Taskers may cancel scheduled tasks for various reasons. Some may contact you to explain their cancellation, while others may cancel without providing additional details.
When a Tasker cancels, you'll receive a notification in your Hyer Customer Portal and can select another applicant to fill the task.
What Happens After a Tasker Cancels?
You'll receive a cancellation notification in your Customer Portal alerts. And will have the opportunity to select another Tasker who has applied to fill the open position.
Will the Tasker Receive a Breach for Canceling?
Whether a Tasker receives a breach depends on when they were selected and how close to the task's start time they canceled.
If you Picked the Tasker with Less Than 6 Hours Before the Task Starts
If you schedule a Tasker less than six hours before a task begins, they will not receive a breach if they cancel or fail to show up. This is because they were scheduled so close to the start time, and the Tasker may not have had time to make arrangements or notice that they were scheduled to work.
This exception applies to Private Tasks. If you send a Private Task to a Tasker within 6 hours of the task's start time, and they accept it, if they do not show or cancel late, they would receive a breach. This is because they manually accept the task and are aware of the start time.
Selected More Than 6 Hours Before the Task Starts
If a Tasker is chosen to work more than six hours before the task's start time but cancels within six hours of the scheduled start, they will receive:
- A breach on their account
- A zero-star rating
For more information, see Breaches – How Do They Work and When to Issue One?.
How Can I Fill the Task After a Cancellation?
If a Tasker cancels, you can select another applicant to fill the task.
If the scheduled start time is approaching, consider:
- Adjusting the Start Time: If necessary, update the task's start time to allow the newly selected Tasker enough time to arrive.
- Contacting the New Tasker: Send a message through Hyer Chat to the Tasker.
What if a Tasker Asks Me to Cancel on Their Behalf?
Taskers should cancel their own tasks through the Hyer app. However, if a Tasker contacts you requesting that you cancel on their behalf, you may choose to:
- Have the Tasker Cancel: Direct them to cancel the task through their app.
- Cancel on Their Behalf: At your discretion, cancel the task and select the appropriate cancellation option to avoid issuing a breach.
Important:
Canceling on behalf of a Tasker may prevent a breach from being applied. If the Tasker is just trying to get around a breach, direct them to cancel.
However, if you want the Tasker to come at a different time, you should be the one to cancel the task, as when a Tasker late cancels, the system automatically issues their account a breach, which can cause it to be restricted, which prevents them from working.
Consider the circumstances before choosing this option.